top of page

2022 Premier’s Science Awards & WA Science Hall of Fame - Applications now open

Updated: Mar 21, 2022

18/03/22 - The Premier's Science Awards recognise and celebrate the research, study and engagement achievements of the Western Australian science community across all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.

Press release from JTSI -

This year, we are excited to welcome HBF as a new sponsor to the program. This has allowed us to feature a new category, the HBF Mid-Career Scientist of the Year, which will recognise scientists who have completed their highest degree between five and fifteen years ago, have demonstrated excellence in their respective fields and are emerging science leaders.

We also welcome Pawsey Supercomputing Centre as a new supporter and thank all of our existing sponsors and supporters for making the Awards possible.

The six award categories in 2022 are:

  • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize)

  • HBF Mid-Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)

  • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)

  • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)

  • Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year ($10,000 prize)

  • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize)

You are also invited to nominate Western Australians who are pre-eminent in their field to be considered for induction into the Science Hall of Fame. The WA Science Hall of Fame was established in 2007 to recognise exceptional lifelong contributions from Western Australians to science, technology, engineering or mathematics.

Further information can be found on the Premier’s Science Awards and WA Science Hall of Fame web pages.

Applications for the awards are now open, closing at 10am AWST on Tuesday 26 April 2022.



bottom of page